Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Still don't think we need a playoff??????

Let's see how we are at seeing things.... Just in the last couple of nights....

Boston College was a 90% favorite over Vanderbilt on ESPN's "America's Vote". Sheesh, why'd they even play the game? Should have just called it and saved everyone the trouble. But......Vandy didn't get the memo. They played a hell of a game and brought home their 1st bowl victory since 1955. Way to go Commodores. I was a doubter, I admit it.

The Ducks, my Ducks, were an 80% underdog on the ESPN poll. That was a great game and Oregon DOMINATED the 1nd half when they decided they were going to run the ball. (was that really our 3rd string QB...YUP!) I can't wait for the highlights to get up on youtube, Masoli laid some hits on those OK ST safeties.

Pitt was favored.

Boise Stat was favored.

Not very many people gave Colorado State a chance.


My point all along has been that we don't know. If you've played the game you know that playoffs, big games, bowl games.....they are different. They just are. Again, as the saying goes.....That's why they play the game!"

Oregon State makes it 4-0 for the Pac - 10

The Pac-10 had a rough season, I've said it before. But now they are showing how good they can be. In an offensive struggle the Oregon State Beavers outscored Pitt 3 - 0. Yes.....yaaaawwwwwnnnn. 3-0. But the Beavs were underdogs, as were the Ducks and Arizon and they managed to get by.

USC is the last game for the Pac-10, they will fact Penn State tomorrow. I've maintained that I feel like this will be another Big 10 gets blown out type of game. I dont want to see that because I have always liked Penn State but I feel like USC is going to make a statement here.

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Ducks over OK ST!!!!

Wahoo!

Oregon Ducks win the Holiday Bowl 42-31.

What a tough 1st half to watch for me. Oregon is a running team and at the end of the 1st half they had barely run the football. Blount didn't touch it once. Johnson had 1 big 76 yard TD and Masoli was non-existant. Luckily someone reminded Chip Kelly at half time that we are one of the top run teams in the country.

J Johnson - 12 carries 119 yards 1 TD
J Masoli - 16 carries 106 yards 3 TD
L Blount - 7 carries 74 yards 1 TD

Yes, we are a running team. Most of that came in the second half. Masoli had a decent night throwing the ball ending at 18-32 for 258 yards 1 TD and 1 INT. He had 4 balls clearly dropped and a couple others that really should have been caught.

We had a hell of a 2nd half scoring 5 touchdowns (and we got stopped on the 1 yard line on a possesion).

THE DEFENSE - Going into the game I thought the defense had to play good bend but don't break. They did that well. Started ou a little shakey but stopped OK ST on 8 of it's last 10 possesions. Ducks came up with 2 interceptions and in the 2nd half layed some big time hits on Robinson that seemed to get him a little rattled.

OK ST's top reciever, Bryant, looked extremely good and unfortunately went down at the end of the 1s with an injured knee. This really reminded me of Dennis Dixon's injury last year. I personally think the Ducks played much better in the 2nd half but losing Bryant definately made an impact on this game. He is a hell of a player and I hope he can come back strong from this injury, knees are tricky.

Saturday, December 27, 2008

Oregon Ducks vs Oklahoma State Cowboys

This is an offense vs offense game if ever there was one. Both these teams put up big numbers on the scoreboard and in the run game. OK ST also has a big threat in the passing game as well.

Let's start with OK ST. While I HATE (yes HATE) the OK Sooners I really have no issue with the OK ST Cowboys. They have had a hell of a season and deserve all the credit in the world. I did think OK ST was a little overrated when they broke into the Top 10 just because they hadn't played thier big conference foes at that point. But the fact remains that the 3 losses they have came against the #1, #2 and #3 team (all rankings the week that they played them). I don't care how you slice it, that's great football. Their running game is terrific, both backs are averaging right at 7 yards a carry. They also have a more potent passing attack than the Ducks. Robinson threw for almost 3000 yards and 24 TD's this season and was vastly overshadowed by the QB's of TX,TX Tech and OK (who of course won the Heisman). They beat Missouri when they were ranked 3rd (I called that one). OK ST boasts the #7 ranked rushing offense in the country averaging 256 yards per game. The Ducks will need to slow that down a bit to compete.

Oregon will need to do what I've said all along this season. They need to be somewhat successful with the pass to keep the run game open. Johnson and Blount should have a HUGE day against the OK ST defense. Oregon comes in with the #4 rushing offense in the country.

SIDE NOTE - I you consider that Navy, Nevada, Air Force and LA Lafayette are all also in the top 10 rushing teams in the country I think you can easily slide OR and OK ST up the list to #2 and #3. Those teams I listed don't play in a competitive conference. GA Tech would stay ahead of both teams in this scenario. This game features 2 of the best rushing teams and there WILL be some fireworks.

Alright, back to Oregon. Masoli is the starter and has been for the better part of the season. This is his 1st year at Oregon and this is a complicated offense, he has matured as the season went on. If he's made some strides during the month of December we may see some great things. I'm looking forward to the future. He's a proven leader having won a JC National Championship last year.

The difference in this game will be the defenses. Both teams are going to rush and both teams will put points on the board. One of these teams needs to have thier defense step up and make some big plays. I think Oregon has proven that they can do that. Jairus Byrd, Spencer Paysinger and Patrick Chung need to have good solid games and they need to make a couple of turnovers, preferable like the ones they had against the Beavers where they turn them in to points on the board. I'd also like to continue seeing solid DE play from Nick Reed, he's a little guy for a lineman but you cannot measure heart and he's got plenty of it! I think OR's big play potential on defense is the key to this game!

GO DUCKS!!!!!

(who'd you expect me to pick)

UFC 92

What an event this was. In addition to being an Oregon Duck junkie I am a watcer and practitoner of MMA. This was a great event.

Rashad Evans proved to be too much for Forrest Griffin. I thought Rashad's speed was going to be enough to get him past Forrest but the 1st 2 rounds definately went to Forrest as he kept good distance and used his long leg kicks to keep Rashad at bay. In the 3rd round Evans was able to drop a bomb and take it down to the ground, once on the ground he used his wrestling to control and GnP him to a KO.

Frank Mir looked fantastic against Big Nog, ending the fight in the 2nd round. Finishing Big Nog is something that noone,including the great Fedor (in 2 tries) has been able to do.

Rampage had an extremely nice KO over Wanderlie Silva.


Great night of fights.

The California Golden Bears make it 2-0 for the Pac 10

California had as close as you can come to a home game tonight and they squeaked out a victory over the Miami Hurricanes. CAL scored late in the 4th after a forced fumble inside the 5 yard line to take and hold a 24-17 lead and win.

Miami is an extremely young team and showed a great dea of inexperience in the last 3 minutes with a horrific 2 minute drill. Wasting virtually 80% of the last 2 minutes. It was a shame to see a young team play so well for most of the game and then do that at the end.

Hey CAL, when your QB is playing like crap and your running back is averaging 10 yards a carry.....DON'T PASS, JUST RUN! CAL tried to give this game away by continually going to an ineffective pass game. Longshore was 10-21 while Best ran for 186 yards on 20 carries. Best did a great job in space, that guy is fast. All in all CAL represented the Pac-10 well, big explosive offense and a bend but don't break defense was a winning formula tonight.

PAC-10 2-0 in the 2008 BOWL GAMES.

Oregon Ducks over Oklahoma Sooners for the National Championship!!

So we're nearing the end of my mach 2008 football playoff. The #4 Oklahoma Sooners vs the #16 Oregon Ducks for all the playoff marbles. We saw a lot of great games in the playoffs but this was a great championship game. It was close the whole way through but the....well....I guess the video will say it all. That's right, actual video footage of my mach playoffs...



The Ducks take the lead 34-33 with :46 left on the clock for the victory!!!!!!


The Ducks are National Champs!!!! WAAAAAAHOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Sunday, December 21, 2008

New Video for View

I've updated the video on the side, it's also available here. If you missed the Oregon Ducks dismantle the Oregon State Beavers you can relive the best moments and see a few Beaver fans hang their heads. In all fairness I must disclose that most weeks I route for the Beavers to do extremely well. Just not during the CIVIL WAR!!!!!!!



How do you make Beaver cookies?????

Beat them up for 4 quarters and then take them out of a bowl.


:)

Arizona gives the Pac 10 their 1st win of the bowl season

The Pac-10 has tken a beating this year from the media, what else is new. In addition to the no respect factor this year the Pac-10 is the underdog in 2 of the 5 bowl games.

USC is hgher in the rankings than Penn State.

While neither Cal or Miami is ranked Cal did get some votes.

Oregon is #15 while Oklahoma State is #13.

Oreon State at #24 plays Pitt at #18.

Arizona, unranked, faced #16 BYU yesterday and the Las Vegas bowl. Arizona really looked good and I just felt like the game was a lot closer on the scoreboard tha what was actually happening. Arizon hadsome miscues turning the ball over that helped keep BYU in the game. I say that even though BYU led in pretty much every statistical category, just felt lik Zona was controlling the game. BYU's top receiver Austin Collie had 11 catches for 119 yards and grabbed 1 hander that was probably the catch of the year in this game. If I'm not mistaken they showed a stat that he has had over 100 yards receiving in each of his last 11 games. WOW. Heck of a ball player.

I thought the officiating was terrible in this game, although nothing that relly effected the outcome it was just bad. They had to review a bunch of stuff that shouldn't have been reviewed, the crowd was booing them throughout. A little tip to the ref's......If it takes you 10 minutes to review the camera angles, it's probably not conclusive. But no, they overturned the play. At 1 point Arizona had 12 men on the field, no flag was thrown. Then the BYU coach came and yelled at the ref, never through his challenge flag and they stopped play to announce the penalty. At this time it was called an illegal substitution. Carry on with 4th down. The more complaining from the BYU coach revealed that they were not going to call illegal substitution but 12 men on the field from the previous play, they had to review to confirm. Now, 12 men on the field is reviewable. But a coach yelling that you blew a call shoudln't trigger the review. The coach has every right to throw the challenge flag. Ultimately the right call was made but it was gone about the wrong way and gave BYU a big chance.

Pac-10 1-0 so far in the 2008 bowl season. Good upset win for Arizona.

Monday, December 15, 2008

Track Town Pizza



Oh how I miss my home. Track Town Pizza is located across the street from my beloved UofO. It's delicious. They are known for their BBQ Chicken Pizza but I'll stick with the traditional type Pepperoni or Meat Lovers any day. Anddon't even get me started on the Hawaiian.



One of my fondst memories of returning to Oregon was back in the 90's. My High School, the Eagle Point Eagles was headed to the state championship game. A couple of my old buddies and I got together and made the trip to Autzen Stadium to watch the game. We went to Track Town Pizza before and after the game. We were about 1/2 way through our first pitcher of beer when we realized this was the 1st time we had drank together (legally). Since I moved away realitively close to my graduation I turned 21 away from home.



Sunday, December 14, 2008

NCAA 2008 Playoffs Round 3

Yesterday could have been another great day in college football. IF, that is, we had a playoff.

#3 Texas Longhorns defeated the Boise State Broncos

#16 Oregon Ducks defeated the Florida Gators



#3 Texas Longhorns set to play the #16 Oregon Ducks next Saturday.


#4 Oklahoma Sooners defeated the Ohio State Buckeyes

#5 USC Trojans defeated the Penn State Nittany Lions


#4 Oklahoma Sooners will play the #5 USC Trojans next Saturday.



If you'd like to see how many different variations of these brackets can happen you can go to ESPN here. You can go through this bracket a few times and see different outcomes. The bottom line is no matter where the upsets are there are 5 GREAT weeks of college football.

And as I've stated before. We can still have the other 26 bowl games (currently there are 34, a 16 team tournament will lower that number by 8).

Saturday, December 13, 2008

Support the Cause

My biggest problem with all these arguments about whose the best team is that it will ever solve anything.

I'm fairly certain I cannot convince any Texas fan that OU was better this year.

If TX had gone to the Big 12 Championship I'd say the same thing.

You can say this about AL fans and/or FL fans.

OU and FL, maybe next year this happens to you. Would you rather play this game or have a play off and shut those TX/AL fans up? (again, I'd say the same thing to OU and FL fans if things had gone the other way.)

And what about USC's defense? They are pretty damn good.

When I ask to support the cause it's to talk about playoff. Can't TX and AL fans agree with FL and OU fans here? Wouldn't a playoff been fantastic this year????

And to the 1 person who still lives in UT... Wouldn't your guys have liked a chance to play in a tournament that may result in a National Championship. I'll tell you what, I'm hoping Utah wins.


Email your friends, call in radio shows. I'm not looking to plug this dinky blog, just want some playoffs. WE NEEEEEED PLAYOFFS!

More $%&^# proof the BCS sucks?

Point #1 -

Even some of the most avid college football fans don't know about theother divisions football teams. Sure we know that Apalachian State pretty much rules and they did beat Michigan. But outside of that not so much. I'll admit I don't really follow it until the time of year that they reach the playoffs.

In Division 2 football Minnesota Duluth (#7 Rank) and Norhtern Missouri(#3 Rank) are playing. This division does their playoff a little funky but Neither of these 2 schools received any of the 4 (YES, 4) number 1 seed positions. If the BCS were in Division 2 the teams plaing for the title wouldn't be in there.

How does division 2 rank? It's a media poll. Same as the AP poll in the big league. So if the guys who pick the schools in Division 2 don't get it right,what makes anyone think they get it right in the big league?

They don't, that's why the system sucks!


Point #2 -

In Division 1 we are also watching a playoff. Not what we all think of as Division 1, the old Division 2 now that Division 1 is the BCS. Anywho.... We are watching Richmond vs Montana. These 2 schools received 1 of 8 'at large' bids because neither team won their conference.

ALABAMA and TEXAS fans should be paying attention here.

So in Division 1, they have a playoff? And, they send the top 16 schools? And, And, the two teams playing for a TRUE championship didn't win their division? So does this mean that the team playing best at the end of the year isn't always the best team out there? If a team looses 1 game they are not necessarily a bad team?

Good thing that only happens in those other divisions!

Point #3 - I've made this point before.

If the BCS was instituted in the NFL 6 of the last 8 Superbowl Champs would not have even been in the game. Eli and Peyton Manning would not have had an opportunity to win the MVP in their games. (although Peyton would have went in a different year, just not the year they actually went)

Here's where I posted more details about that. Click me


Point #5 - Another 1 I have brought up before.

Look at the NCAA BB Tournament. A little thing they call March Madness. In Basketball they pick 4 different #1 teams. How many times sinc ethe Tourney started have all 4 #1 teams made it to the final 4?????? Once, last year. So if the4 top teams in a sport don't ever (or 1 in about 30 years) make it, what makes us think we can just choose the top 2 football teams?

We Can't!!!

Sunday, December 7, 2008

Did the BCS get it right?

NO. They did not.

Keanu Reeves will win an oscar for best actor before the BCS gets it right.

How can you have all these good teams, just pick 2 and get it right? Every week there is an upset. As the saying goes....THAT'S WHY THEY PLAY THE GAMES.

Did anyone think that Florida would lose to Ole Miss?
Did anyone think USC would lose to Oregon State?
Did anyone think Penn State would lose to Iowa?

There are upsets each and every year. Going undefeated is tough and everyone shoul understand that all these teams are beatable. To say that anyone or any computer can pick the clear top 2 teams in the country is ridiculous.

At one point this season everyone was raving about Mizzou, saying that they may not punt again all season they were so good. Now they have 4 losses.

The ACC has an automatic bid to the BCS, where they have systematically lost 8 straight games.

Does ANYONE outside of the state of Utah think they will beat Alabama? (maybe if they were playing Oklahoma they'd have a change.)

I hope Texas creamates Ohio State.

USC will beat Penn State bigger than anyone thinks. (That pains me to say, I love Joe Paterno and have always admired Penn State.)

Absolutely not, they did not 'get it right'. They won't next year or the year after that. On the BCS selection show on Fox Charles Davis said he loved playing in bowl games. He's full of crap. If you are a player and you compete, you want to compete against the best and play to win. Not some random bowl game. Not that you cannot enjoy yourself in the bowl game but if the players on TX,AL, USC, Penn State, Utah, Boise had a choice I'll bet 99% woud want to play in some playoffs and have a chance. The other 1% are kickers!

2008 NCAA Playoffs Round 2

Round 1 was a great week and round 2 is looking even better. There are a lot of tough match ups this week. Prepare to make a big plate of nachos and wings to invite your friends over. You'd better have more than 1 TV in your living room or man cave. (all rankings are based on the AP end of the season pre-conference championship games)

#2 Florida Gators VS #16 Oregon Ducks - on ABC at 7pm est

#3 Texas Longhorns VS #9 Boise State Broncos - on ESPN at 1pm est

#4 Oklahoma Sooners VS #10 Ohio State Buckeyes - on ESPN at 5pm est

#5 USC Trojans VS #6 Penn State Nittany Lions - On ABC at 1pm est


If you want to see how we got here you can check out the Round 1 Results or the Round 1 Match Ups at the links given.

Who wouldn't want to see all these games????

For those of you who absolutely love the bowl system and think that a playoff would ruin everything, not to worry. You can catch the St Petersburg Bowl featuring South Florida VS Memphis game on ESPN OCHO at 2:30pm or the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl featuring Hawaii (what, really, Hawaii in the Hawaii bowl) vs Western Michigan at 7pm est. I'm sure those will be riveting games! Me, I'll stick with the playoffs.

2008 NCAA Football Playoffs Round 1

Last week I posted what the tournament bracket would look like. This week we'll take a look at how those game would have gone (in my mind) and what's on tap for this coming week.

This is all, of course, IF we had a playoff. Now, you certainly can disagree with my picks, who I say wins the games andall of that. What I hope you agree with me on that all these would be great games and December would be a hell of a month of football if we had a 16 team playoff. If you think I'm crazy with some of my upsets, just plug your team back in there and look, no matter how you slice it there would be some great matchups for us to enjoy.

#1 Alabama VS #16 OREGON DUCKS - Ducks win 45-28

#2 Florida vs #15 Georgia Tech - Florida wins 35-21

#3 Texas vs #14 Oklahoma State - Texas wins 24-17

#4 Oklahoma vs #13 Cincinatti - Oklahoma wins 59-13

#5 USC vs #12 Ball State - USC wins 49-3

#6 Penn State vs #11 TCU - Penn State wins 28-17

#7 Utah vs #10 Ohio State - Ohio State wins 31-14

#8 Texas Tech vs #9 Boise State - Boise State wins 45-42

What a great week, couple of blowouts and a couple of upsets.

2 Contradicting Scenarios in the BCS

This my be a little early because it's not announced yet but it would appear as I type this Sunday monring that we will see a Florida vs Oklahoma National Championship game. This will be a great game and I think both of these teams are deserving. But let's look at the arguments that got them into this game. In both of these scenarios 1 truth that has been a constant always remains. IF you are going to lose a game, lose it early! Loosing games late in the season is the death touch.


Head to Head or Better Season?

Oklahoma was in the Big 12 Conference Championship based on thier BCS ranking which has factored in big wins, normal wins, losses, points scored and blah blah blah. Even though Oklahoma lost to Texas head to head the computers and the Sooner fans are quick to point out that thier big games, specifically Texas Tech, they looked better than Texas and had a better Season.
Season Notables -
  • Head to head was won by Texas.
  • Texas Tech - Oklahoma won big. Texas Lost.
  • Oklahoma with a much bigger overall win but if you look at the halftime scores both schools were easily winning the game. OK was up 48-7 and TX was up 35-0 at the half.
  • Kansas - Texas 35-7 or Oklahoma 45-31
  • Texas A&M - Texas 49-9 or Oklahoma 66-28
  • Baylor - Texas 45-21 or Oklahoma 49-17
  • OK State - Oklahoma 61-41 or Texas 28-24
  • Texas Tech, who lost to Oklahoma but beat Texas was never even involved in this discussion, like it never happened? Tech beat Kansas by 42. Tech beat OK State by 36. Beat Baylor by 7. Beat A&M by 18.

So.....You've got 3 'bigger' wins by Texas ad 3 'bigger' wins by Oklahoma. What's a conference to do. They turn to the wise and wonderful BCS who says that Oklahoma is the better team. Case closed, end of story, no further discussion needed. Hey, Texas Tech had a couple good quality wins in there as well? Why no respect for them?

In this conference the better season won out.

Florida beat Alabama last night in the SEC Championship game. More than likely it will be announced that they are selecting Florida to play for the title. In this conference the 2 best teams in the conference happened to play. Unlike the Big 12 where the #4 team (Mizzou) got in because all the power was in the South.

Notables -

  • Florida beat Alabama head to head 31-20.
  • Alabama's only loss was to the #4 school in the nation. Florida lost to an unranked team.
  • Alabama beat the team that beat Florida.
  • Tennessee - Alabama won 29-9, Florida won 30-6.
  • Georgia - Florida 49-10, Alabama 41-30.
  • Arkansas - Alabama 49-14, Florida 38-7.
  • Kentucky - Florida 63-5, Alabama 17-14.

So again we have both with great seasons. One could make compelling arguements for each team. But, if Florida is announced to play for the title today the team with the best season (Alabama) will not win out like in the Big 12.

I say it all the time and I'll say it again. Don't each and every one of these teams deserve a shot at a title? Don't we as fans deserve to see all those various match ups?

OK Fans - Wouldn't you rather Texas get beat in a playoff so you don't have to hear "we beat you head to head and we should have been there" for the rest of you lives?

FL Fans - Same question. Alabama fans will say "we had a better season, you lost to an unranked team".

All valid questions. All with the same answer - PLAYOFFS!

Friday, December 5, 2008

So what do we do with the season if there is a playoff?

There would have to be a couple changes made in the season to accomodate a playoff.

#1 - I think the season should be reduced by 1 game. Get rid of one of the cupcake games EVERY team plays. Have a scrimmage, it's not too much different.

#2 - Conference Championships - Either everyone does one or no one does. I don't particularly care which. I'm more concerned with the National Championship, not the conference.

#3 - Preseason Rankings - Scrap em! There is absolutely no point in preseason rankings, they are ridiculous. Let's take a quick gander at the SEC this year.....Preseason had Auburn, LSU and Tennessee way up in the rankings and Alabama no where to be found. TN just had their worst season ever, Auburn lost to Vandy (I was at that game, it was the worst coaching job ever on Auburns part.) and LSU fell apart. Don't rank anyone until week 6 or more.

Arguments against a playoff?

#1 - The kids need to be in school. ANSWER - Yes, they do. But every other level of college has a playoff. Am I to understand that Div 2 and NIAI kids are so much smarter than DIV 1 kids that they can handle it? Also, Basketball has a schedule a lot longer, more games. Those kids manage.

#2- A playoff would mean too many games. ANSWER - If the season were cut to 11 games, 10 if every conference wanted a championship game, only 2 schools would play 15 games. 4 teams would play 14 and 8 would play 13. Schools that go to bowls currently play 13 games so really not a whole lot of difference.

#3 - The BCS Bowls rake in a ton of money. ANSWER - Are you F'ng kidding me, you don't think a playoff would rake in much more money for schools, ratings and sponserships. That's ridiculous. How many more people watch March Madness. December Chaos would be a cash cow.

#4 - 16 teams is too many, it should just be 4 or maybe at the most 8. ANSWER - 16 teams is the right answer for me. It allows for the teams like Ball State and Utah who go undefeated. It also allows room for the power conferences like the SEC, Big 12, Pac 10 to send 2 or maybe even 3 teams depending on the year.

#5 - If you do 16 shouldn't you include ALL the conference champs? ANSWER - NO. This year Ball State is undefeated and they've earned a shot in my mind. But if they had 2 losses and won the conference they more than likely wouldn't be ranked at all. So no.

#6 - A playoff wouldn't change anything, people would still bitch. ANSWER - People will always bitch about thier team being better and all that wasteful crap. But noone will be able to say 'we got screwed'. TX, AL, FL, OK, Texas Tech, USC, Penn State and yes even Utah, Boise State and Ball State- All the undefeateds and 1 loss teams, only 2 can play for the championship. No matter how much you slice it up and argue about it, SOMEBODY IS GETTING SCREWED! (it's us, missing all these awesome games)

#7 - What about the other 60 teams that play in bowl games. ANSWER - Let them play, I don't care. You can have another tournament or two like the NIT or still keep all the Emerald Nut Bowls you want.

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

2008 NCAA Football (NIT style tournament)

Edit - Just for the record. Outside of the 16 team tournament for the National Championship I don't care what happens. If there is another tournament or 40 bowl games it doesn't matter. I just want the AP Poll 1-16 Tourney.

So in the other post we have the top 16 ranked teams based on the AP poll. We cn also have an NIT that features teams 17-32. I'm sure you will have to twist an arm or two, but us boys will watch.

Since the AP only goes to 25 I used the next top vote getters to fill in my 16 team bracket.

#17 - Georgia vs #32 - Rice
#18 - Boston College vs #31 - West Virginia
#19 - Missouri vs #30 - California
#20 - Brigham Young vs #29 - Florida State
#21 - Michigan State vs #28 - Tulsa
#22 - Mississippi vs #27 - Virginia Tech
#23 - Pittsburgh vs #26 - Iowa
#24 - Northwestern vs #25 - Oregon State

Still a pretty solid tourney, I'd watch. There are some good football matchups in there, plus down the road a few weeks you would have some pretty good games.

Monday, December 1, 2008

NCAA 2008 Playoff, College Football Playoffs

This is what we college football fans should be enjoying during the month of December. We're not, of course, because the computer system run by the BCS is so wise it doesn't need to be bothered by 4 weeks of good football, it just picks the best 2 teams and they play. That is a National Championship.

My playoff bracket will be based on a few simple assumptions.

1 - It will not include any of the Conference Championship games.
2 - It will be based on the November 30th AP Poll top 16 teams.
3 - It's a 4 week tournament, reseed at the end of each round.
4 - Semi-Nuetral (Regional) fields. This way some of the smaller bowls could still get their revenue. Similar to NCAA Basketball. (Could even do some double headers, who wouldn't want that?)


Here's Week 1 Matchups - Saturday December 6th, 2008

#1 - Alabama Crimson Tide vs #16 - Oregon Ducks

#2 - Florida Gators vs #15 - Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets

#3 - Texas Longhorns vs #14 - Oklahoma State Cowboys

#4 - Oklahoma Sooners vs #13 - Cincinatti Bearcats

#5 - USC Trojans vs #12 - Ball State Cardinals (poor Ball State!)

#6 - Penn State Nittany Lions vs #11 - TCU Horned Frogs

#7 - Utah Utes vs #10 - Ohio State Buckeyes

#8 - Texas Tech Red Raiders vs #9 - Boise State Broncos


How many of you guys would sit around all day and watch this thing unfold?
How much money would these schools, the sponsers and the stations make just in this round alone?

Don't forget we'd still have a #17 - #32 NIT style tournament, that would have some great games as well. I'll post that one later.



What if the NFL had a BCS? Here are the last 8 Super Bowl winners and whether they would have represented their conference in the Superbowl under the BCS.

2008 - New York Giants - BCS would have had the Cowboys.
2007 - Indianapolis Colts - BCS would have had the Chargers.
2006 - Pittsburgh Steelers - BCS would have had the Colts.
2005 - New England Patriots - BCS would have had the Steelers.
2004 - New England Patriots - Patriots would still be there.
2003 - Tampa Bay Buccaneers - BCS would have had the Packers.
2002 - New England Patriots - BCS would have had the Steelers.
2001 - Baltimore Ravens - BCS would have had the Titans.
2000 - St. Louis Rams - Rams would have still had it.

So only 2 of the last 8 years would the BCS computers have picked the correct Super Bowl winner. 25% of the time. That's terrible.

We need a playoff in College Football, period.

Rounding out the top 16.

In the previous post I discussed 10 teams that had a pretty legitimate argument to be able to play for a National Championship.

Please keep in mind when I mention teams like Ball State, Boise State, Utah and the 6 that I will bring into this hypothetical tournament are not in there because I feel like they have a chance. Some of these teams would more than likely get destroyed 80-3. My point and argument is that they deserve a chance.

Ask anyone on that Ball State team if they want to play a meaningless bowl game against some random 6-5 or 7-4 team or if they'd like a shot at AL or TX or OK or FL. I'll bet they's say 'bring it'. They had a great season. Sure they have a weak conference, but undefeated is still impressive. The BCS basically tells any school outside the Big 10, Big 12, Pac 10, ACC and SEC that the will NEVER play in a title game no matter how good they do.

So under my plan you take the top 16 teams in the AP Poll and let them duke it out in a 4 week tournament. You could still play all the meaningless bowl games, or you could have a #17 - #32 tournament and call it the NIT like they do in basketball.

So this year the last 6 teams in the tournament are......

#11 - 10th ranked Ohio State. At 10-2 they would pretty clearly be on the 'best of the rest' list. I think the Big 10 has been weak the past couple years (see the last couple National Title games) but Ohio State is a good team and they are better now than when USC trounced them early in the season. Watch out for Pryor, he's a good ball player.

#12 - 11th Ranked TCU. TCU will be another team that squeaks in there and it probably not as good as their ranking would indicate. If I ranked everyone I would probably give the nod to someone like GA, BC or MO. Overall better teams but we're playing within the rules here. Top 16 out of the AP poll. Besides, I don't think the argument for a GA, BC or MO would be so overwhelming that it would be a big deal.

#13 - 13th Ranked Cincinatti. Cincinatti will be going to a BCS Bowl game this year. It looks like they will get Boston College. A #13 vs a #18 for 1 of the top 5 bowls. THANKS BCS! That sounds like a terrific game. Again, heck of a season, put them in a playoff they will probaly loose in round 1. But don't play off the top ACC and top Big East teams as a top 5 bowl game.

#14 - 14th Ranked Oklahoma State. This is a pretty good ball team with early round upset potential. Take a look at their 3 losses. #1 ranked Texas, #2 ranked Texas Tech and #3 ranked Oklahoma last weekend. (all rankings durng the week they played them.) Too bad in this tounament they would be matched up with Texas.

#15 - 15th Ranked Georgia Tech. Another 'best of the rest' team. Had a good solid win over GA this past weekend. I like them in a tournament because I don't see them getting blown out, they may loose but I think they would put up a fight.

#16 - 16th Ranked OREGON!!!! Wahoo, my boys squeaked in and earned themselves a shot at Alabama in the 1st round. I think they will win. (something tells me that in my tournament Oregon wins the whole damn thing!!) With thier offense clicking they can and will put points on the board. I'm looking forward to a showdown in the holiday bowl with OK State.


I'm going to map out a playoff in the next couple days. I'm going to make it so that Oregon wins, (see the title of the blog!). While you may not agree with my outcomes, we can argue about those all day and night, wouldn't we all love to see all these match ups???


As Keyshawn would say. "Come on man."