Saturday, September 7, 2013

DUCKS DOMINATE!!

Probably should go to sleep, have a 9 hour drive in the morning. BUT I CAN'T. Still pumped up from seeing my boys live for the 1st time since the TN game a few years ago. Who won that again????
Anyway, what a game. I swear I am spoiled rotten, I am thinking we are not playing well. We WON 59-10 against a team that knocked off a top 20 and I'm wanting more. Sheeesh!
I predicted 56-17. We got an extra FG and didn't give up a garbage TD at the end of the game. I'd say that was a solid prediction.
Marcus ran for 100+ with a nice 71 yard TD run and DAT went over 150 (124 yards rush with 3 TD's/28 rec yards) as well. Marshall fell quite a bit short. Tyner looked phenomenal on 4 carries late.
I still think our passing game has a ways to go. Last year we relied on it against CAL, that will happen again. Colt! UGH. I begged for more touches for Colt and he drops 3 passes. 3!
(Sunday update - I have since learned that Colt has a broken finger. That would explain the drops. Here's hoping for a quick and complete recovery so that I can continue to beg for 8 touches per game)

Marshall also dropped one right in his hands. Marcus was 14 for 28. Yeah he got 199 yards 2 TD's. But I'd like to see a better completion %, even without the drops. There seemed to be 2 guys open on every pass play, he didn't always go to the open guy.
A word about Byron Marshall. I really like the kid. I thought he looked very good last year and I did NOT jump on the Tyner for president band wagon. Today though, whew. Tyner impressed when Byron was off. The difference was huge. Byron is pussy footing through the hole and not looking very decisive. Tyner was in during mop up duty late in the game but he made 1 cut and GONE! Gone gone gone!
A word about our DEFENSE. GREAT FRICKEN GAME. Virginia had the ball for almost 40 minutes and ran 86 plays. Total yards = 298 and 10 points.
They ran the ball 39 times for 124 yards. The top 4 runs went for 45, 10, 10 and 9. Take those 4 biggest plays out and you have 35 rushes for 50 yards.
Jake McGee for Virginia had a solid day. He had me yelling "cover the TE" on every 3rd down. We are going to face some very good TE's when we get to conference play, need to find someone or some way to cover those guys. Seemed like he had 10 catches. He and the other TE combined for 12 catches yards. From my perspective each one was for a 1st down. If Washington's Austin Seferian Jenkins is eligible and sober he could have a big game.
DAT looks great to me when we run him outside. I'm still not convinced he's an every down inside zone read running back. I'm not saying he should never go in there. But why not get him in space. Still seems stubborn. (of course he rushed 11 times for 124 yards, sooooo, what the hell do I know.) If DAT does nothing but prove me wrong over and over again..... I'm OK with that! I'm a humble guy, I will be happy to admit I was wrong as they lift the trophy at the end of the year.
125 - 13 this year. GREAT START. Let's keep it going next week!
- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

No comments: