Let's soak that in for a minute. You are playing a top 25 team and you win 49-0. A team that put up 59 and 56 points in their last two games, and you shut them out. A QB who had thrown 7 TD's and 1 pick all year, and you snatch 3 from him. I said the only thing I "wanted" this week was a win and boy did I get one.
Let's run down the list of keys I wanted in a perfect world scenario. Here's that link - http://www.duckfanintn.blogspot.com/2012/09/week-4-arizona-wildcats.html
#1 - I wanted to see D. I wanted to see how the front four would control the run. AZ had 32 carries for 89 yards. 2.8 yards per carry. Let's call that one an A+. Or, A++++. Carey is a solid back and he'd been getting a lot of buzz, the D looked fantastic. In a perfect world maybe we get a couple more sacks, but who am I to complain.
#1 - The 2nd number 1. I wanted to see a full game. I think I got that. I don't recall 1 play where it appeared someone took a play off. Very good job playing the full game.
#2 - I wanted to see super Mario run the offense. I also wanted him to see a little pressure/adversity. I got to see both. Marcus struggled a bit in the 1st half. The offense wasn't clicking and things were just kind of sputtering along. I started to think how far we've come as Duck fans. 5 years ago a 13-0 lead at the half would have been fantastic, now I'm sitting there thinking ???what??? we're not up by 50 yet????
#3 - DAT! OK, just a little more snobbery for a moment. DAT gets 48 yards on the ground, 11 yards through the air and 38 on a punt return. I'm calling that a bad game? Of course this is not bad. No break out runs but DAT had a solid performance here. The punt return was a bit of a spark. Let's give some credit to AZ's defense here, they did a great job maintaining their gaps and tackling in the open field. My friends over at http://fishduck.com/ have some pretty kick ass tutorials about our zone reads, what we look for and how they run. One of Oregon's big goals is to get our quick guys 1 on 1 in a big hole and force you to tackle us. Backs like LMJ last year, DAT and KB this year, make that extremely difficult. AZ did a very good job last night.
#4 - Wanted to see the TE's get involved. Really only got Colt involved. 2 catches for 53 yards. More about Colt later.
#5 - Keep feeding Bralon Addison the ball. 3 catches for 83 yards and a pretty nice 55 yard TD. I'll take it. We have a full stable of possession receivers. We need to stretch the field. Bralon, along with other true frosh Dwayne Stanford may be the guys to do that.
Overall I don't know that the game could have gone any better. 49-0 is about as good of a win you can expect. Right off the bat Chip did what almost none would do. Start the game going on a 4th and 2. We miss and the D holds. WOW! AZ would end up in the red zone 6 times with ZERO points. The WR's still put a few balls on the ground, but again, here's a little bit of the snob coming out. "what??? DAT didn't score??? we didn't have 50 at half time?? We dropped passes??? Not enough sacks??? 8 penalties???" Yes, all those things happen and I'm still grinning ear to ear. :) see.
Colt for heisman? No? How about 7 carries for 63 yards and a TD. How about 2 catches for 53 yards and a TD. How about he carried the ball and the QB in for a TD run? How about those were his 1st 7 carries as a Duck? I definitely like "The Diesel" package as I am calling it. I may take some crap for this and I don't get to see all the practices but I think it is not a stretch here to make Colt the back up running back and let DAT catch more balls. DAT is special and I know he is tough. But I would be fibbing if I said I didn't cringe when he darts up the middle and takes some of those big hits. I don't think he's going to break in half or anything. I just think we can get him all those touches on the outside. Maybe Colt could return kicks??? I kid, I kid. Did you know that Colt rushed for 1500+ and 26 TD's his senior year in high school? That same year he caught 35 passes for 843 yards and 13 TD's. If you doubt the athletic ability of a guy 6 ft 5 and 250.....
Player of the game? Ifo Ekpre-Olomu. 2 interceptions, 1 run back for a TD. The commentators said it best after the 2nd pick. All of the sudden they quit throwing to his side of the field. He was, as they say in hockey, standing on his head last night. Ifo looked fantastic.
- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad
No comments:
Post a Comment