Saturday, November 29, 2008

Teams wth a clear gripe about a National Championship

In my opinion we have many teams who should be giving the CHANCE at a National Championship. A tournament of 16 teams would do just that. (not really in order of any kind of importance)

#1 - Alabama - Hey, they are undefeated at 12-0. They deserve a shot to play. I believe they will loose to Florida AND loose their shot to play for a title. If the SEC didn't have a Championship game Alabama would be in. The hypocracy of the BCS will shine through. If Florida (with 1 loss to Ole Miss who was unranked at the time) and Alabama (with 1 loss to #4 ranked Florida if that happens) both have 1 loss Florida will be a sure thing. Why? Because Florida lost early which is accpetable.

#2 - Utah - They are also undefeated. I personally don't believe they would beat anyone else in the top 10, including Boise State. But, they played the games and they won them all. They should have a CHANCE to play in a playoff.

#3 - Boise State - Same reason as Utah.

#4 - Ball State - Yes, even they should get a chance. A 16 team tourney would allow for that.

#5 - Texas - At 11-1 with 3 wins over top 15 teams they are pretty impressive. It looks like they will get passed by Oklahoma despite beating them earlier in the season. I personally think OK is better, but they did beat them on a semi nuetral site so what are you going to do? This argument can rage on for centuries, a playoff is the ONLY way for an OU and a TX fan to settle it. Let them both play.

#6 - Oklahoma - OU is also at 11-1 has plaed 5 Top 25 teams. (even though 1 of them was Kansas.) I think they will get the nod tomorrow in the BCS. Either way one of these great teams will not be playing for a national title. Although I cannot stand OK I think that they are 1 of the top 2-3 teams in the nation.

#7 - Texas Tech - Funny how no one is saying much about Texas Tech. Just like OU and TX they have 1 loss, they beat Texas. There is no 39-33 website to prove that Texas Tech should be the choosen team from the Big 12. Texas lost to a #7 school, Texas Tech only lost to a #5. Fantastic Offense with a lacking defense, but they are fun to watch.

#8 - USC - The team everyone loves to hate. 11-1 if they beat UCLA next weekend. You know that if there were a playoff environment USC would 'show up' to play. Great Defense, solid Offense.

#9 - Florida - I actually think Florida is playing better than anyone right now. AL is undefeated but FL, OK and USC are playing some GREAT football right now. If I had to pick a top 3 based on what I see that's the 3 I'd pick. Being a Pac-10 fan I try to watch as many Pac-10 games as possible. Living in TN pretty much forces me to watch every SEC game, they are always on.

#10 - Penn State - Coming from the Big 10 makes every skeptical over the past couple years. But my argument is that they deserve a CHANCE to play. Again, a 16 team playoff would do that. It looks like they are going to earn themselves a chance to be demolished by USC this year.

6 more spots open, tomorrow I will take a look at the AP poll and see who isranked 10-16. Ohio State, TCU, Cincy, Georgia Tech, Oregon and Boston College are likely. BYU and Michigan State could slide in there.

So who's getting screwed???? It's US!!

I actually heard on one channel tonight a commentator said he polled some people coming in and about 80% of people wanted a playoff. Well that tells me there are 20% of the people at that game with no brain in thier head. On another channel a commentator said the BCS was 'great' for college football and a playoff would ruin it. That man should be shot. No, a bullet is to much money to waste on that one!



If the BCS is so great, let's just have a computer program for all sports.

What if the NFL had the BCS???
The Giants would not have been in the Super Bowl last year. They were not on of the top 2 teams. It would have been the Cowboys or the Packers from the NFC. The same could be said for the Colts in 2007, the Steelers in 2006, the Patriots in 2005, the Buccaneers in 2003, the Patriots in 2002 or the Ravens in 2001.
That's right, in the 2000's only 1 team with the best record in the NFL has won the Super Bowl. Would college football be so different?

Trade March Madness for the BCS????
In NCAA Basketball the people who seed the tournament get 4 choices for a #1 team. Only 1 time, last year, have all of the #1 seeds made it to the final 4. If they can't pick 4 number 1 teams what makes us think they can pick the top 2 in football?

BCS in other divisions???
All other divisions of college football has a playoff. Arena football has a playoff.

Ducks have record breaking performance in Civil War

Tonight the Ducks whooped the Beavers 65-38. Everyone pitched in.

Quick stats -
Record - 65 pts against OSU, most they have ever given up.
Record - 693 total yards on offense.

Masoli - 11/17, 274 yards and 3 tds.
Johnson - 15 carries 216 yards and 1 td
Blount - 17 carries 112 yards and 1 td

Defense scored 14 points on 2 interception returns and held the Beavs to 84 yards rushing.

This may put the Ducks into the Holiday Bowl and a showdown with 11-1 Texas Tech. That game, if it happens, will have a whole lot of offense!

Monday, November 24, 2008

The not so Civil War

It all comes down to the Ducks vs the Beavers. As it always does in the Pac 10, rival week is the best. AZ vs AZ ST, USC vs UCLA, OR vs OR ST and this year CAL vs Stanford and WA vs WA ST came 1 week early. It doesn't get any better than this.

This year the Civil War has many implications. If the Beavers win they can go to the Rose Bowl for the 1st time in over 50 years. The Ducks would need to win and have USC loose, probably have to be a full moon and some kind of voodoo charm to make it to the Rose Bowl. But they can take 2nd and get a proably show dwn with Texas Tech. (I don't know if they want any of Texas Tech but if they win they will get some!) A Rose Bowl bid would give the Beavers a 2nd shot at Penn State who dominated them early in the year.

Overall The Ducks have a 55-46-10 lead over The Beavers. In the past 30 years the Ducks have been more imprssive with a 21-8-1. The Beavers have won the last 2.

The Beavs have home field advantage for this one and they have played well at home this year. Most notibly knocking off USC when noone expected them to. This will be a tough game all around.

The biggest question on my mind, as is every week this year, which Ducks team will show up? Will Masoli complete 30% o his passes or 70%? Will Jeremiah Johnson and Legarette Blount combine for 30 yards or 230 yards? The defense has big play ability, will they make a big play?

Sunday, November 16, 2008

The Big 12 - Somebody's gonna get screwed this year!

Hard to deny that the Big 12 is having an outstanding year. Even SEC fans have to admit there is some big talent in the Big 12 right now.

As of today there are 3 Big 12 South teams in the Top 5. OK and TX both have 1 loss and Texas Tech remains undefeated. TT and OK will play in OK next week in a huge match up. I believe that OK will win that game, but obviously that remains to be seen. If OK does win the game and nobody looses anything else you will have a 3 way tie for 1st place.

So how does the Big 12 decide 3 way ties?

The 1st 4 Tiebreakers all have to deal with overall record (same), divisional record (same) and divisional record against the 4th, 5th and 6th place teams in that division (all three have beat everyone else). Since these will all be the same they will go to the 5th tiebreaker which is.......wait for it......The highest ranked team in the BCS poll. Fabulous! So if OK beats TT that will be a big quality win and throw them into a 3 way tie, my guess is that a win over TT will be enough to get the Sooners past the Longhorns in the BCS computer calculations.

Now, the Big 12 has a title game, OK (assuming my scenario above) will play Missouri for the title. What if MO wins? You will have the Big 12 champ, a #11 team in a better spot than OK, TX and TT. All who should have a better overall record. More than likely MO will not defeat any of the 3 teams from the South, they are not as good. But Chase McDaninel and company are good enough to win on any given day. So as they say, "That's why they play the games!"

Let's say OK, TX or TT go on to beat MO. That team will play for the National Championship more than likley. Let's assume OK. TX may then get a BCS bid but it's not garaunteed, and TT will be hung out to dry and not get any credit, they will be in a crap bowl for nothing.


PLAYOFF, PLAYOFF, PLAYOFF! We need it in college football.

Ducks over the Wildcats 55-45

The Ducks started out on a tear doing exactly what I asked of them, Masoli waswell over 50% completing 16 of 18 for 292 in the 1st half. Wait, who? Masoli? Uh hu. The defense also made a big play early when Patrick Chung returned an interception for a touchdown. The Ducks were up 14-0 in the 1st minute and 30 seconds. The Ducks dominated the 1st half and went into the locker room with a 45-17 lead. Now, apparently someone woke up Masoli, because the 2nd half belonged to the Wildcats. Storming back into the game the Wilcats made it close whe they had 45 to the Ducks 48. The Ducks did prevail and come a little bit closer to their season I'd hoped for.

If they can defeat The Beavers in 2 weeks they will take 2nd place in the Pac-10 and will have only lost to USC, CAL and Boise State. I'd love to have the CAL game back because we through it away, USC and Boise State are both in the Top 10 so those are definately losses I can live with. They have looked pretty ugly all year and if you watch the games it's pretty hard to imagine that the Ducks have the record they do, 8-3. They have a good chance to go in and beat the Beavers in 2 weeks, the Beavs are playing very well but the Ducks should be up for this game.

The Beavers loss to Stanford at the start of the season is turning out to be a big dissapointment for them, like the Ducks that seems to be their only bad blemish. OSU's other losses are to Top 10 teams, Utah and Penn State. If USC can squeak into a championship game or loose a game and the Beavers can get past the Ducks we could quite possible see a rematch with Penn State only this time it will be a more friendly environment. (While I am a die hard Ducks fan I really have never felt the hatred toward the Beavers, I often route for them outside of games with the Ducks!)

If, BIG IF, USC could manage to loose to UCLA or Notre Dame AND the Ducks beat the Beavers we could see a three way tie for 1st place. It's an outside chance but it is there.

Thursday, November 13, 2008

Ducks VS Arizona

The Ducks will play their last home game this weekend as they host the Arizona Wildcats. Both teams have 2 conference losses and 3 losses overall. Oregon has played 1 more game so their overall record is currently a little better with the 1 extra win. Oregon still needs to find their offense, Masoli doesn't look comfortable and while I think Roper lead the team better Masoli brings the QB run threat and that's what the ducks are all about.

Last year the Wildcats handed the Ducks their first loss when SR QB Dennis Dixon went down with injury, with him the hopes of a run at the title went down. The Ducks will look to seek a little revenge for that loss. Brady Leaf had come off the bench last year but we never expected much out of him. Arizona lost to Stanford, who Oregon beat last week, but beat CAL, who Oregon lost to so this should be a close contest. Scoring offense for UA and UO are about the same so this shoudl come down to two things.

1 - Can Oregon find it's offense? the run game needs to be productive and Masoli has to complete more than 50% of his passes, I think he also needs to get a ball completed deep down the field early in this game to keep Arizona honest. He needs to start quick.

2 - The Ducks Defense needs to make a couple of big plays. They have a bend but don't break defense that is capable of creating a lot of turnovers, they will need to create these opportunities and help keep themselves off the field.

I'm still hoping for 1-1 out of these last to games and a solid bowl performance out of my boys. If they can win these last two games they will more than likely get 2nd place. Maybe 3rd depending on what CAL does. If they split they will end up 3rd or 4th and if they loose them both (which they are also capable of doing) they could be in for a 5th place finish.

Let's finish solid boys!

Saturday, November 8, 2008

BCS

This is shaping up to be another BCS controversy, especially if Penn State goes undefeated and Boise State goes undefeated. PSU will definately get into the championship game if they are undefeated. If Texas Tech and/or Alabama manage to make it as well that will be huge.

Then you have the 1 loss teams. I beleive AL will lose at least 1 game so I think the bes 1 loss teams will be AL, FL, TX, TX Tech, OK and USC. Any of those teams are capable to beating another on any given day.

Penn State will take a top spot and Boise State will probably take another. Hell, Utah may creep in there.

It is going to be a big dissapointment for someone. I think USC, Texas Tech and Alabama are heading for a big let down by the BCS this year.

Barack Obama stated that he would like to see an 8 team tournament for the National Championship. I still think it should be 16, but an 8 would be nice.

Arguments right now for a 16 team VS an 8 team. (assuming you take teams 1-8 or 1-16)

16 would allow for those cinderella teams like Utah, Boise State and TCU a chance. I don't think they have much of a chance but it is a chance.

If you have 8 instead of 16 OK State, OH State and GA will be out. I think they are good enough to win given the right circumstances. LSU is 16th, I think they are good enough. I cannot make a logical argument for anyone outside of the #16 school. I feel I can make a good argument for a couple of the 9-16 schools.

16 Teams = 4 weeks. That is the difference between the last game of the season and the championship game. It just fits. It's like God made December for a college football playoff and we are denying him. (too much? Yeah you're probably right) :)

Who doesn't want a playoff? I hear people argue this point but no one ever says "hey I like the BCS and it's clearly the best system ever, I wish they had it in the pros!" Every year about this time I feel like a great college season gets highjacked by some computer nerds and we all get screwed.

Anyne who's ever played sports at a competative level will tell you....PLAYOFFS ARE DIFFERENT. They game gets a little faster, hits a little harder, passes a little crisper. Need proof? Watch the NCAA tournament, magic happens there every year. Football fans are missing out!

Ducks at 6-3

It's been a couple weeks. With the baby on the way and all the election stuf going on I've been out of circulation. In the past 2 weeks the Ducks are 1-1. With Stanford this week they wil then face Arizona and Oregon State. They are capable of going 3-0 in those games but with the way they have been playing I'm remaining conservative and hoping for a 2-1. This would be 8-4 overall on the season which is about where I thought they'd be. They have had quite a few ups and downs and the QB position is a rough spot. I guess the good news for me is that 2 of their losses are agains Top 10 teams. Boise State has been playing well and will more than likley end undefeated, good for them. They may end up with OK again in a bowl game. I don't think the out come will be the same as the last time they met. They lost to USC who is trying desperately to get back into BCS title contention, I don't know that thier schedule will support that. A Pac-10 team needs to go undefeated to get into the title game. Tough loss at Cal, the Ducks really should have won that game. Big oops plays in big situations and they shot themselves in the foot over and over. Play like that and you do not desreve to win.

I will be happy with an 8-4 season AND a good bowl performance. All the QB's are young and will get better. I'd rather have a 9-3 AND a good bowl performance for the seniors on defense who have played so well for us these past couple years. In particular Nick Reed and Patrick Chung.

Elsewhere in the league I was happy to see Mizzou lose 2 and get out of the top 10, they are a solid team but I think top 10 is stretching it. They will also lose the Big-12 Championship game to OK, TX or Texas Tech. OK State could get into that game but they still have 2 tough games ahead. Penn State looks like they will go undefeated. Althought I love Joe-Pa I think if this happens they will go the way of OH State and have a less than terrific game against FL, AL, TX, OK or on an outside chance USC. I think Texas Tech is a good team but they were lucky to beat Texas. They won't be so lucky next week when they travel to OK.