Tuesday, November 5, 2013

It is time for the big one!

Unless you listen to a bunch of ESPN, then this is about the 5th big one. Virginia's ACC sized O line was our 1st test. Then the TN Vols with their NFL bound O and D lines were our 1st test. Then we had to get tested by the Washington Huskies, their improved D and that was followed by our 1st real test against UCLA and a Heisman QB.

Yup, 5th 1st test of the year.

I'm extremely optimistic for this game. Here's why -
Currently the Ducks are averaging 55.6 to 16.9. Pretty solid.

Now think about this, the Ducks haven't put together a complete game yet. We've left points on the board and given up easy points nearly every week.

Case in point, UCLA. The 14 points they scored came on drives of 31 and 29 after turnovers. Fumbled inside the 10 and missed a FG. Four simple mistakes that turn the 28 point win into a 52 point win. Obviously someone could probably take any game and any team, identify a few things and come up with a 3-5 TD swing. If only we always perfect!!! My thought process is that our boys are fully capable of coming out and playing a solid game start to finish. And, I believe that Thursday night will be the night that we tighten up.

I think the difference in this game is our passing game. A passing game which is much improved over last year. Our receivers have been playing terrific this year. I'd like to say a play over the middle to our TE early, give everyone a reminder that Johnny Mundt tore TN a new one. Then get the speedsters Huff and Addison involved. I think Marcus is well over 300 and multiple touch downs in this game.

I think the run game does what it does. Stanford does have a solid D, I think they will slow us but not stop us. I, like many of my fine feathered friends, believe that DAT should not be a full time running back. I'm not going to tell him what he can or cannot do. But I would LOVE to see Marshall in the backfield with DAT, Huff and Addison split wide. Are you kidding me??? Marshall has been doing an excellent job running. He's been killing it. Tyner is explosive in relief. Speedsters with more size than we are used to. If we do see a full time return of DAT I hope we use him in tandem with the goal of getting him in space.

Scott Frost said we were going to show them some new looks. I remembering the National Championship game when we worked in some extra running backs. Moving people around. We could have 3-4 guys on the field at a time that have run the ball. Marshall motions out wide, DAT lines up. DAT in the backfield with Huff motioning around as a triple option guy. Shift to the Spin T with DAT, Addison and Marshall in the backfield! OK, maybe not the Spin T.

Our defense has had a great year. Always interesting that they do it so quietly since our offense gets all the press. After giving up a ton of passing yards to Wazzu they shut down UCLA and held them to 64 passing yards. The linebackers are playing smart solid football. I swear I get to the end of the game thinking that they haven't made any plays only to find out they've been making all the tackles. I love our D-Line. Size that we've never seen, we were supposed to be pushed around by Virginia and by Tennessee. NOPE!

Last but certainly not least - Coach Helfrich. I'm so pleased with this season. The WA and UCLA games show that we may be better at halftime adjustments than we were. I'm also very pleased that we are not as stubborn as we were under Chip. Don't get me wrong, love Chip to death. But I think we've found a long term coach that can be extremely successful for a long period of time.

I don't think there is anyway the guys don't show up for this game. The coaching staff will have them prepared and fired up! I think this game shows the football world that we will not be overlooked for the likes of Jameis Winston.

I'm calling this in the ball park of 56 - 14. A bold prediction that I normally don't do. I think this game makes the country go "whoa".




- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad