Chip is surely reminding the Ducks about the pitfalls of last year and reminding everyone to Win The Day!
I really feel like we are going to roll on USC and put a beating on them. This would be great because it would "prove" our #2 ranking in the human polls and give us some SOS to start climbing in the BCS polls. (If you haven't noticed, KSU and ND have closed the points gap in those human polls. We need a big win over a big team, USC may be all we got.)
Here's what I want to see in on our road to victory.
1 - Again I'm going to stick with Defense. I just watched some highlight videos of the WA, AZ and AZ ST game. We have some damn playmakers on D baby! Ifo, Avery, Kiko and Bo are all back there making some big plays. Our D-Line going into the season was going to be our big sneaky killer.....But someone forgot to tell the backfield because it has been pick-6 city back there. I'd like to see a game where we beat USC by 21 with our offense. Kick in another 2 TD's by the D and win by 35.
2 - More Defense! You know USC will be fired up this weekend. We need to get pressure on Matt Barkley, this pressure will come from our many blitz packages but we will also need our D-Line to know Matt on his can a few times. I have read that Dion Jordan was practicing with a brace on his shoulder, good news for us! He is not the only one on defense with the ability to make plays. Taylor Hart has been playing his butt off. I would like to see someone, anyone, just explode and get a couple of sacks.
3 - Will our offense be tested???? I'm sick of hearing "well this week Arizona is coming to town, they will test the Ducks!" Sixty minutes later "Arizona is terrible, when will the Ducks play someone?" "Washington's D will test them......Nah, they suck too." AZ ST??? Sucks! Pretty well known fact that every team in the Pac 12 sucks. Yeah yeah yeah. Maybe our offense clicking on USC's D will earn us just a touch of respect? Nope, they will suck come Sunday.
4 - Kenjon Barner. Admittedly I haven't ever been a huge fan of his. I'm mean, he's my running back so I love him and all, but he never seemed to have that same fire and gritty toughness that LMJ had. These last couple weeks he has really changed my mind. I think he's running a little tougher, looking to finish and running with a bit of nastiness that I LOVE to see. Keep it up KB!
I encourage you to watch the full video for all the Duck action, but if you want to see what I'm talking about with KB click forward to the 3:40 mark. Last year and early this year I think Barner takes a step out of bounds on this play. This year he finishes the run and puts the defender down.
5 - Colt Lyerla. I know I know, we have sooo many weapons and all of them can't get the ball all the time. But being a former TE I do think that is an under utilized position in the Ducks O. Who didn't like seeing all our quick WR's running slants while David Paulson snuck behind everyone for a 50 yard TD. Colt has done it and if we feed him he will continue to do it.
6 - Big plays. DAT? Addison? Marcus? KB? Don't much mind who, I want to put a fork in USC early and put an absolute beating on them on their home field. Game on FOX that is not at 11pm! Put everyone on notice and beat the crap out of USC!